The Center has formed several committees. “This organization needs to tap its vast cadre of talented and experienced members if it is to meet the challenges we all face today as we strive to provide a fire safe campus environment.” said Paul D. Martin, President.


Professional Development, Education and Events Committee


Mike Swain, CCFS Vice President/University of Massachusetts, Amherst, Chair
Janet Maupin, CCFS Treasurer/University of Champaign, Vice Chair
Neal Zipser, Kidde, Vice Chair

Sharon Gamache, Chair, Speaker Sub-Committee

Walter Patterson, Edinboro University of Pennsylvania
Dave Taylor, Gettysburg College
Glenn McGeoghegan, Babson College
Guy Swartwout, NYS Office of Fire Prevention & Control
Jan Parker, NC State Fire Marshal’s Office
Jill Marcinick, Live Safe
John Gallo,  Stony Brook University
Lisa Korklan, Keltron
Greg Amyot, University at Albany
David P. Jetter, Miami Township Fire and EMS
John W. Fellers, Texas A&M
Justin Daniels, Univ of Oklahoma
Edward Conlin, Lasell College
Jim Patton, Corvallis FD
John Walsh, Tufts University
Steve Nardini, RealView LLC
Jim Gibbs, Arizona State
Michael Perlmutter, Hofstra University
Christopher N. Reynolds, Loyola University Maryland


The purpose of the Professional Development, Education and Events Committee is to develop training programs, events, products and services that enhance the technical skills and professional knowledge of CCFS’s members. The committee’s primary responsibilities include: planning and implementing the annual
Campus Fire Forum, professional development seminars (PDS) and other specialty training programs
offered, or co-sponsored by CCFS.

Membership Committee 


Bobby Fererra, CCFS BOD/Montclair State University, Chair
Luisa Carlotta Ferreira, University of Maryland, Vice Chair

Brian Weinstein, CookSafe
Jeff Pendley, CCFS BOD/University of Southern California
Michael Lowe, Delaware State Fire School
David Price, CSP, CFPS, Vanderbilt Environmental Health & Safety
Steve Doyle, Weill Cornell Medical College
Kristine M. Rossmiller, Drake University
Jim Gibbs, Arizona State


The Membership Committee is intended to serve and increase our membership base of high caliber fire and life safety professionals from colleges and universities as well as other who have an interest in campus fire safety. The Membership Committee also provides guidance regarding elements pertaining to membership and member benefits/services in the organization. It is comprised of members who are knowledgeable about best practices in the capacity-building field.

Codes, Standards and Technical Research Committee


Alan Sactor, University of Maryland, Chair
William Scott, Rutgers University, Vice Chair
Richard Roberts, System Sensor, Vice Chair

Lawrence Labbe, GA Tech
Morgana Yahnke, Univ of CA, Davis
Rodger Reiswig, SimplexGrinnell
Captain Scott Donovan, Winter Park Fire-Rescue Department
Richard Wood, CFPS CBO FM, University of Massachusetts – Lowell
Christopher N. Reynolds, Loyola University Maryland
Thomas Hammerberg, AFAA
Dan Finnegan, SIEMENS
Tim Knisely, CCFS Treasurer
James Tidwell, Tidwell Code Consulting
Jody Nolan, RIT
William Freer, NYS Office of Fire Prevention & Control
Robert Schifiliti, R.P. Schifiliti Associates
Travis Tyler, Univ of Southern California
Ron Farr, Underwriters Laboratories
Peter Harrod, Cosentini Associates
Wayne Moore, Hughes Associates
Jack MacNamara, Bosch
Leo DeBobes, Stonk Brook University Hospital
William Koffel, Koffel Associates Inc.
John DeLaHunt, MBA, ARM, The University of Texas at San Antonio


The Code, Standards and Technical Research Committee is charged with assessing and promoting proposals for changes in national model codes, industry and reference standards as they relate to college and university infrastructures. It also has responsibility for coordinating and facilitating the promotion of scientific research in the field of fire and life safety. The Committee works to provide guidance to the Board as it develops organizational positions on such matters. 


Government Affairs Committee


Diane Collins Eggerman, CCFS Headquarters, Vhair
Thomas Hayden, George Washington University, Vice Chair

Kevin McSweeney, University of Deleware
Tim Knisely, CCFS
Michael Perlmutter, Hofstra University
MaryAnn MacKenzie, Auburn University
Brian Tarolli, Syracuse University
Robert Nute, Sandy Hook Fire & Rescue / Naugatuck Valley Community College


The Government Relations Committee's mission is to monitor and inform membership of proposed and/or new
laws, rules, and regulations that are likely to impact fire and/or life safety at colleges and universities, primarily, but not limited to, the national level. The committee often participates in rule development, prepares comments and testimony, and otherwise works to influence rulemaking. The committee helps members easily find relevant information on government regulations, as well as develop and provide other compliance assistance to higher education institutions.