Header Color:
Main Color:
Footer Color:
Campus Fire Safety Month History
How did Campus Fire Safety Month come about?

September 2005
The Center for Campus Fire Safety designated September as Campus Fire Safety Month across the nation with the goal to raise the level of awareness among parents,students,administrators and legislators about the importance of fire safety.

September 2006
Campus Fire Safety Month was started in 2005 by the Center for Campus [Fire Safety] in order to raise the national awareness of campus fire safety issues across the country. That year, a dozen states issued proclamations designating September as Campus Fire Safety Month and some schools held events and activities. However, 2006 saw a tremendous leap forward in activity. A total of 31 states issued proclamations, covering over 61% of the population in the country.

September 2007
According to Paul D. Martin, now President of the non-profit Center for Campus Fire Safety (CCFS), "Campus Fire Safety Month was first proclaimed by CCFS in 2005, and was formalized nationally in 2007 when both the House of Representatives and the U. S. Senate passed resolutions recognizing September as Campus Fire Safety Month. CCFS is pleased with this success and are now organizing the Campus Fire Safety Month Network with our association members and sponsors. This CFSM Network will serve as a focal point to unite fire and university officials nationwide as we work toward improving fire and life safety on campus."
(Library of Congress, Thomas Locator)

Title: A resolution designating September 2007 as "Campus Fire Safety Month".
Sponsor: Sen Biden, Joseph R., Jr. [DE] (introduced 3/14/2007) Cosponsors (5)
Latest Major Action: 6/20/2007 Passed/agreed to in Senate. Status: Resolution agreed to in Senate without amendment and with a preamble by Unanimous Consent.

Title: Expressing the sense of the House of Representatives supporting the goals and ideals of Campus Fire Safety Month, and for other purposes.
Sponsor: Rep Jones, Stephanie Tubbs [OH-11] (introduced 1/24/2007) Cosponsors (32)